This is the eighth Fast and Furious movie. Eighth.

Nevertheless I had the chance to see Fast and Furious 8 on Saturday and well, I have to say, I do really enjoy it. I’ve really only sat through the series from Fast Five; the first four I’ve seen in parts. Fast Five is still my favourite one by a mile, but I’d probably put Fast and Furious 8 at number 2 or 3.

In F8 Dominic Toretto (Vin Diesel) betrays his team, including newly married wife Letty Ortiz (Michelle Rodriguez), for master hacker Cipher (Charlize Theron), with reasons unknown. The remaining members of our team, including Luke Hobbs (Dwayne Johnson), are again recruited by Mr. Nobody (Kurt Russell), this time to set out to find Dom for an explanation, with the reluctant help of Furious 7‘s Deckard Shaw (Jason Statham).

This is by far the most fun I’ve had at the movies so far in 2017, just edging out The Lego Batman Movie. Coming into a Fast and Furious movie you expect big, loud action scenes and I got that in spades. However, what I did not expect from this instalment was a deep emotional undercurrent laced throughout the entire film – something Furious 7 only had at the very end. Because of this I was very surprised and it heightened the movie experience for me.

My ranking of the series (those I’ve seen)

  1. Fast Five
  2. Fast and Furious 8
  3. Furious 7
  4. Fast and Furious 6

Highlights of the movie: The prison scene. The plane fight. The five on one (literal) grapple. And also, “Everyone, meet (spoiler)“.

Downsides: Charlize Theron’s villain wasn’t given much to do. A certain character from a previous movie gets introduced at the film’s climax which feels forced.

But yes, go see this movie. A lot of fun.

